Here’s some news: Thirteen Republican lawmakers joined a Democratic majority in the House yesterday to block President Trump’s declaration of a national emergency to fund a barrier or wall on the U.S.-Mexico border.

Credit: PA House — Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick with the Homeland Security Committee

Border crisis or border security is likely to become a legal battle in the courts.

The president’s executive action followed the Congress’ denial of his request for $8 billion to build a barrier on the southern border. Instead, the Congress allocated about $1.4 billion. Not enough, President Trump said, citing national security issues, a porous border, human and drug trafficking, criminal involvement and illegal entrants.

A House resolution to stop he president’s declaration of a national emergency passed yesterday by a vote of 245-182. This was a party-wide Democratic effort supported by 13 Republicans, including Bucks County Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick.

Some Republicans said they believed the president was usurping the constitutional spending authority of the Congress, while others, like Fitzpatrick, claimed the president was setting a dangerous precedent

Here are the 13 Republicans who pushed back on the national emergency declaration: Representatives Mike Gallagher,WI; Justin Amash, MI; Jaime Herrera Bentler,WA; Will Hurd,TX; Thomas Massie, KY; Dusty Johnson, SD; Francis Rooney, FL; Cathy McMorris, WA; Jim Sensenbrenner, WI; Elise Stefanik, NY; Greg Walden, OR, Fred Upton, MI.

Rep. Amash was the only Republican congressman to co-sponsor the resolution disapproving of the president’s executive order.

It now goes to the Senate for a vote.