Thirteen municipalities throughout Bucks County are coordinating with State Police to make aggressive drivers face the music. As part of a wider operation involving Chester, Delaware and Montgomery counties, authorities will be more strictly enforcing the law on the roadways.

PennDOT announced the “wave” of enforcement Monday afternoon. Officers will use several tactics including traffic enforcement zones, saturation patrols, and work zone enforcement.

Police will crack down on dangerous behaviors like speeding, distracted driving, and failing to stop at stop signs.

Within the four counties there 1,482 crashes, including 17 fatalities in 2017.

The effort is funded through PennDOT’s invested funds in the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Its enforcement is part of the Pennsylvania Aggressive Driving Enforcement and Education Project, now in its 14th year.

Lower Bucks police departments cooperating:

  • Bensalem Township
  • Lower Southhampton Township
  • Middletown Township
  • Newtown Borough
  • Newtown Township
  • Penndel Borough
  • Warrington Township