Fitzpatrick Introduces Resolution To Censure, Condemn Trump

Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick speaks Election Night 2020 as GOP Chair Pat Poprik looks on. Photo by Rick Rickman.

Republican Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick has introduced a resolution to censure President Donald Trump.

In a statement Tuesday night, Fitzpatrick condemned Trump’s rhetoric on the election. He said it directly led to the riots at the Capitol.

“President Trump’s attempts to undermine the outcome of the 2020 election have been unconscionable. The combination of a false information campaign coupled with inflammatory rhetoric led to the devastation that I was a personal witness to on the House Floor on January 6th. His actions threatened the integrity of our democracy, Congress, and his own Vice President. For months, President Trump has been lying to the American people with false information, and giving his supporters false expectations. The election is over. Joe Biden will be sworn in as President of the United States on January 20th, 2021. President Trump’s actions, behavior, and language are unacceptable and unbecoming of the office he holds for the next eight days.”

Several lawmakers joined Fitzpatrick to introduce the resolution.

These representatives aim to substitute this censure for the current House impeachment efforts. They expect the impeachment will end in acquittal in the Senate.

Fitzpatrick’s office laid out the thought process in a larger statement.

“There are two constitutional purposes of impeachment: 1) removal from office, and 2) barring the future holding of office. The current approach being advanced by House leadership is certain to accomplish neither one of these.”

While the representatives are expecting the likely Senate trial to end in acquittal, Fox News reports the outcome is not so certain. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell reportedly is “furious” with the president and is undecided about whether he would vote to convict.

The New York Times also reported McConnell was “pleased” with the impeachment effort, though other sources contradict this.

Other representatives joined in introducing Fitzpatrick’s resolution, including:

  • Tom Reed (NY-23),
  • Young Kim (CA-39),
  • Fred Upton (MI-06),
  • Mike Gallagher (WI-08),
  • John Curtis (UT-03), and
  • Peter Meijer (MI-03)