Friday evening, Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick announced 24 selections for military service academy nominations. He joined Bucks and Montgomery County students, their families and military veterans.

“As your representative, one of my most important responsibilities is nominating qualified young men and women from Bucks and Montgomery counties to our nation’s prestigious service academies to continue the American tradition of service,” Fitzpatrick said the ceremony.

The 2018 classes include nominees with recommendations to the U.S. Naval Academy, the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, the U.S. Air Force Academy, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. Fitzpatrick sees this as a first step for students to serve their community and country.

“It has been an honor to see so many proud young Americans undertake this process. With great schools and exceptional families, each year our area boasts some of the most competitive applicants the service academies review.”

Fitzpatrick takes into account his Nomination Committee for the Service Academy Nominations. The Committee includes active duty, and retired military remembers from the Eighth District, including USAF Lt. Col. Susan DeGiovanni (Ret.) of Solebury who is an Air Force graduate.

Students chosen for the congressional nomination does not guarantee entry to a service academy. Many who do not assume a position at one of the Service Academies go on to receive ROTC Scholarships, appointments to other military Academies such as The Citadel or Virginia Military Institute.

Those receiving nominations include:

  • Thomas Wassel (SOUDERTON) – U.S. Military Academy
  • Christina Lyons (VILLA JOSEPH MARIE) – U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Airforce Academy; U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, U.S. Naval Academy
  • Dylan Taylor (PERKIOMEN VALLEY) – U.S. Military Academy
  • Matthew Whalen (C.R. NORTH) – U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Naval Academy
  • Scott Erney (ARCHBISHOP WOOD) – U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Naval Academy
  • Amanda Hughes (C.B. SOUTH) – U.S. Military Academy
  • Jaime Dougherty (C.B. EAST) – U.S. Military Academy
  • Madeleine Rizzuto (NOTRE DAME) – U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Airforce Academy
  • Jarrett Reichwein (C.B. WEST) – U.S. Military Academy
  • Jacob Minakowski (C.R. NORTH) – U.S. Military Academy
  • Evan Marrone (SOUDERTON) – U.S. Airforce Academy
  • Chloe Miller-Russo (C.B. WEST) – U.S. Airforce Academy, U.S. Naval Academy
  • Jacob Heffner (SOUDERTON) – U.S. Airforce Academy
  • Jacob Grube (C.B. EAST) – U.S. Airforce Academy, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
  • Andrew Cabo (C.R. NORTH) – U.S. Airforce Academy
  • Patrick Gannon (PENNRIDGE) – U.S. Airforce Academy, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
  • Ian Donaher (C.B. WEST) – U.S. Airforce Academy
  • John Brophy (C.B. EAST) – U.S. Airforce Academy, U.S. Naval Academy
  • Michael O’Donnell (ARCHBISHOP WOOD) – U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
  • Grace Loughery (PENNRIDGE) – U.S. Naval Academy
  • Benjamin Komita (C.B. SOUTH) – U.S. Naval Academy
  • Jessica Nangel (ARCHBISHOP WOOD) – U.S. Naval Academy
  • Kasey Dietzel (C.B. SOUTH) – U.S. Naval Academy
  • Gabrielle Shepherd (C.R. NORTH) – U.S. Naval Academy